top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureB Hagerty

GUEST INTERVIEW!

I am so excited to share my interview with my guest blogger Danielle Williams! She is a fashion icon and has so much knowledge to share!


Hi all! My name is Danielle Williams. I'm so honored to be answering these questions. I am married with two children, two boys to be exact. I have always been interested in fashion and I would say I have many styles. I can dress super unisex/street one day with some sick sneakers on and then the next day have on a floral printed dress with some heels. For me fashion has no limit.


I definitely mix it up... There are so many good pieces out there I constantly push myself to try new things and don't limit myself to one style! I have been working as a Visual Merchandising Manager for a few years now and I absolutely love what I do. I attract the visual presentation and basically tell a story to the customer. The story may be a style, color, outfitting, etc. This helps determine what the customer wants and needs. They might not have been able to come up with a certain outfit or not really know what they are looking for but through the visual presentation they are likely to find it is what they want. My favorite part is styling and just making people feel good and confident! I want everyone to feel comfortable in what their wearing and I just want to help everyone be the best version of their outfit! I also love personal styling for events, vacations, photo shoots or just everyday wear!


Brenna: What got your interest in fashion?


Danielle: I would say I have always been into fashion even as a child. I would put on fashion shows and put outfits together. Plan all my looks for vacation or whatever event was going on, birthday parties, weddings, all that. I just remember I always wanted to pick my own outfits down to the shoes, jewelry and bag. I was accessorizing at a young age and just always had fun with it. I would say once I started to work for a clothing retailer it really took me to the next level. Once I really started to work full time and have a career out of it, I really took an interest. I would see so many dupes, which are lookalike of designer/ luxury pieces, coming in that were similar to things celebrities and influencers were wearing so I really think that put me into my obsession for fashion. Creating looks that looked expensive but really were low cost and efficient. And always having the latest trends at my fingertips makes it super accessible to throw something together.




Brenna: Does fashion affect your everyday life?

Danielle: Yes, 1000%! Whether I'm going for a laid-back look or something a little classier and dressier. I always put thought into what I'm wearing. Fashion is an art for me.


Brenna: What are some of your go to looks or must have items?


Danielle: My go to look for a more casual vibe would be a cargo pant or a jogger pant and an oversized graphic tee and some sneakers. If it's a colder day add a bomber jacket or shacket. Literally can never go wrong with that. For a dressier look I would say a silky slip dress and a good pair of lace up strappy heels.







Brenna: Do you get inspiration from others? If so, who?


Danielle: Of course! I would say one of my biggest fashion inspirations is Hailey Bieber, because her looks are so versatile, she does a lot of street style unisex looks which I'm into right now but also can pull off a really mature sexier vibe. Her looks are definitely easy to pull together a look for less. I also follow her stylist, Maeve Reilly. She is also a huge style inspiration for me. Some others would be Bella Hadid, Paige Desorbo, Danielle Bernstein, Camila Coelho, Nicole Williams, Olivia Culpo. I definitely like to mix feminine and street style depending on my mood. Carrie Bradshaw is always a vibe. Even though she was a fictional character she is also probably my main go to. Some of the looks SJP wore in the series are so timeless I'm huge on vintage pieces as well. I still get inspired from that series.


Brenna: Does social media affect what you wear?


Danielle: I do get inspired from social media, but if there's a trend I'm not into I definitely would not wear it just because everyone else is. If I'm shopping and I like a piece but it's not necessarily on trend right now I will still get it. I definitely stay true to myself.


Brenna: Do you find it hard to create an outfit or new look?


Danielle: I think sometimes we all get that mental block! I usually go back to my mood boards or play in my closet a little and see if I can come up with something.


Brenna: Being a wife and mom do you incorporate your fashion style into theirs or do they create their own?


Danielle: I usually do all the styling in the home. Since I do dress street/ unisex a lot I think that helps me to keep up with male trends. I actually love pulling looks for both male/ female and always have. It's really fun for me! My husband, children, and I do all have some similar pieces! When I take the boys shopping, I'll usually point something out and they're just like "yeah whatever" haha. They don't care as much, I guess they trust me with it, but they definitely pick out their own things too.




Brenna: What do you think some upcoming looks are?


Danielle: For spring and summer definitely a lot of green, orange and pink. I think we will see a lot of cut-out tops and dresses. Oversized blazers have been a thing, but I think we will see them paired with bra tops more. Suiting sets, oversized button ups, crochet sets, halter tops, platform heels, and kitten heels. Y2K is very in right now but also 60s/ 70s. Big purses are coming back but I still love a mini bag!


Brenna What are your dos and don'ts?


Danielle: DO's: Wear it if you like, Stay true to yourself. Set goals for yourself and save up for what you've been eyeing. Go out and buy that bag if it's something you really want and can't stop thinking about!


Don't: If you don't feel comfortable in something than don't wear its super trendy right now. Don't splurge on everything you buy. You can get dupes for way less. Only invest in luxury or designer if you really LOVE IT! and if you think it will be timeless to you.


Brenna: Do your friends ever ask for fashion advice?


Danielle: Yes! They usually will send me a few different options

and ask on which to wear. I love to do a closet raid. They might not have thought to put certain pieces together so that's what I really enjoy doing and my goal is to ultimately make you look and feel the best!



Brenna: Do you have fashion/ any advice for others?


Danielle: My advice would be always having the staple pieces and depending on your style those will vary. But when you have those staple pieces, for example mine are an oversized blazer, a work trouser pant, distressed baggy jeans, a clean white sneaker, corset tops, matching top & skirt sets, you can always mix and max those pieces. You don't really need a full closet of clothes to be fashionable. You just have to play around with styling your pieces differently. Have some fun with it! It shouldn't stress you out fashion should be fun! Always just stay true to yourself. If you're not feeling it then change. Having the right fit on will help with your confidence!





Danielle was so kind to do this interview with me and I was so excited as is one of my biggest fashion inspirations! She has such great variety of outfits that she puts together. I am always so excited to see what outfits she puts together and posts on Instagram next. I hope you enjoyed the interview and got some helpful tips!


47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page